FURTHER INFORMATION ABOUT THE CLUB DES CENT COLS

 

Our ethos

Our ethos is to bring together cyclists with a passion for the mountains and for mountain cycling, and to promote friend ship and acquaintance witht hose we meet climbing the cols of the world. Belonging to our Club implies a friendly, welcoming, and non-competitive attitude in all dealings between members.

We devote ourselves exclusively to mountain cycling, and to col climbing.  Each member submits an annual list of their climbing achievements – no proof is required, as these lists rely solely on the word of each member.

Our Club rule (“règle du jeu“)

The six articles of our main Club Rule are set out clearly for anyone seeking to become a Club member.  These articles are explained in more detail in the document “Rules of the Game

Within our rules, a “col” is defined by its topographical character.  It is never a hill-top or mountain summit.  Not every climb, no matter how long or difficult, will necessarily lead to a col.  The Club sets out its own precise definition of a col within its “Règle du Jeu”, knowing that other definitions may exist elsewhere.

Our organisation

Our Club complies with the 1901 French law for non-profit making associations.  We are affiliated to the Fédération Française de Cyclotourisme (FFCT), with club number 6384, and we can secure FFCT licences for those who wish.

We don’t want to divert membership away from other clubs – on the contrary we hope that our members will also remain with their long-standing clubs where relevant.  Although our Club originated in the Savoie, we don’t have any fixed regional association.  We also aim to include members from different countries and speaking various languages.

The Club is managed by a central Committee (“Conseil d’Administration”) composed of at least three, and at most eleven, member selected by all paid-up members for a four-year term.  It meets at least twice each year.  The Committee is supported by groups of volunteers, all of whom have jobs essential for the running of the Club.

Amongst these volunteers are the Territorial and National Delegates of the Club, each responsible for a specific geographical zone.  They act as intermediaries between the Club and its members; and their role is to promote Club activity within their zone and provide all necessary help and support to zone members.

An Information Group, composed of expert members, looks after the Club website, and the information systems and data-sharing tools related to the club membership and the club catalogues.

Our catalogues

The Club produces a range of catalogues, freely available to all its members, of the cols of the whole world.  Through these catalogues the Club offers an unrivalled service to support those planning trips to the most beautiful mountain regions of the world – the Alps, the Pyrenees, even the Rockies!

A Working Party in each country has established the catalogue of cols for that country, each col approved according to our “Règle du Jeu”.  This has resulted, to date, in 26 different catalogues, covering more than 60,000 cols in 31 countries.  These catalogues are continually evolving, and volunteers are always welcome to help keep them up to date.

Our revue

Our annual “Revue” is the work of an editor-in-chief, of an editing committee, and of numerous contributors amongst the membership.  It also includes the “Tableau d’Honneur”, listing members’ achievements over the course of the year, and reflecting the diversity and dynamism of our membership.

Our boutique

Our boutique shop provides a range of clothing in the Club colours, a range which was comprehensively revised in 2018.  Other useful objects, with the Club logo, are also on sale.

Our activities

Each Club member can organise their own cycling activity, as and where they please.  But the Club also organises numerous joint activities for members’ benefit:

  • Our holidays (“séjours”):

    We organise three annual séjours in the different mountain regions of western Europe, in the spring, the summer and autumn.  At the end of the summer séjour, an international Club gathering gives members the chance to enjoy a  friendship ceremony of speeches and refreshments.  The autumn séjour is linked to the Club’s Annual General Meeting in November.

  • Our regional meetings:

    On the initiative of local organisers or Club members, numerous regional meetings are held throughout the year in different regions or countries.  These meetings give local members a chance to meet up, and are also open to non-members seeking to join the Club.

  • Our long-distance trails (“randonnées permanentes”):

    These long-distance trails cover a region or a country, and all include at least 100 cols on a route chosen by the local organiser. Participants can start or finish where and when they please.  There are 17 trails in existence at present.

  • Our “brevets”:

    To obtain a Club brevet, you must cross all the road cols in a department, a canton, a county or a province, no matter how many that may be.  National brevets for whole countries can also be awarded.  (These brevets are still being developed, and a link will be provided when they have been finalised)

  • Our challenges:

    These are special challenges devised by Club members – each has its own special theme and characteristic.

All these activities, except for the Club séjours, are open to non-members, and are an excellent way of meeting other participants and qualifying for Club membership.

Annexe

In italiano  In English

Notre club a pour vocation de réunir les personnes passionnées de cyclisme en montagne et de favoriser la mise en commun des connaissances acquises sur les cols du monde entier.

Nous ne sommes pas un club de compétition – nos membres roulent à leur propre rythme, où et quand ils le souhaitent, sur les routes ou sur les sentiers de montagne, seuls ou en groupe. Certains membres grimpent moins de dix cols en un an, d’autres plus d’une centaine.  Mais nous espérons que vous partagerez au moins notre passion pour la montagne et que vous vous réjouirez de relever le défi de gravir des cols partout dans le monde.

L’appartenance à notre club  implique de facto une attitude amicale, conciliante et bienveillante dans les rapports entre les membres, et sans esprit de compétition.

Nous souhaitons consacrer nos rubriques et nos échanges exclusivement aux cols et au cyclisme en montagne.

Le col est une entité particulière qui répond à une définition topographique. Ce n’est jamais un sommet ou un mont et toute ascension, si longue ou difficile soit-elle, ne conduit pas obligatoirement pas à un col. La règle du jeu donne une définition propre au Club des Cent Cols, sachant qu’elle n’a pas vocation à être universelle.

L’établissement de la liste annuelle de cols franchis  se fait sur la seule bonne foi du membre. Aucun justificatif n’est demandé.

Les six articles de la Règle du Jeu apportent clairement les renseignements utiles à toute personne candidate à l’entrée au Club des Cent Cols. Le document annexe de la règle du jeu est le prolongement explicatif de ces six articles.

Organisation du Club des Cent Cols

Notre club a pour cadre juridique la loi française de 1901 sur les associations à but non-lucratif.

Nous sommes affiliés à la Fédération Française de Cyclotourisme (FFCT) sous le n° 6384 et nous pouvons proposer une licence à ceux qui le souhaitent.

Notre objectif n’est pas de détourner des adhésions ou des licences au détriment d’un autre club mais au contraire, nous souhaitons que nos membres restent aussi dans leur club habituel quand ils en ont un.

Bien que d’origine française savoyarde, le club n’a pas d’ancrage territorial fixe. Notre organisation générale a donc pour but de permettre la cohésion, les échanges et les rencontres entre tous les membres habitant des pays différents et parlant des langues diverses.

La confrérie est gérée par un conseil d’administration composé de 3 membres minimum et 11 membres maximum, élus par l’ensemble des membres à jour de cotisation, pour un mandat de quatre ans. Il se réunit au moins deux fois par an.

Ce conseil d’administration est épaulé par plusieurs dizaines d’autres bénévoles qui ont chacun une tâche essentielle à réaliser pour le bon fonctionnement du club.

Parmi ceux-ci, les Délégués Territoriaux et Nationaux sont les intermédiaires entre la Confrérie et les membres issus d’une zone géographique particulière ou d’un pays et ont pour rôle d’animer leur zone et d’apporter toute l’aide utile à chacun des membres de cette zone.

Un groupe de travail par pays a établi le catalogue de tous les cols de ce pays en accord avec notre règle du jeu. La réalisation de 26 catalogues nationaux différents (31 pays couverts) en est le résultat. Des bénévoles seront toujours les bienvenus pour la mise à jour des  catalogues en continuelle évolution.

La « Revue » annuelle est l’œuvre d’un rédacteur en chef, d’un comité de lecture et de nombreux auteurs proposant librement leurs articles. Elle contient aussi le « Tableau d’honneur » nominatif de nos adhérents. Décliné sous différents critères particuliers, ce tableau est le reflet de la diversité et du dynamisme de nos membres.

Un groupe informatique composé de membres compétents s’occupe de la maintenance du site, de la création d’outils informatiques de partage des données concernant les membres du club et les cols de nos catalogues.

Une boutique dispose d’une ligne de vêtements aux couleurs du club qui a été revue en 2018. On peut également acquérir d’autres objets utiles, avec le logo du Club des Cent Cols.

Chaque membre de la confrérie peut organiser son activité cycliste seul, à sa guise et dans les lieux qu’il choisit. Mais de nombreuses occasions collectives internes au club lui sont également proposées.

Les séjours :

Nous organisons ainsi trois séjours annuels sur les différents massifs montagneux d’Europe occidentale, au printemps, en été et en automne. A la fin du séjour d’été, un rassemblement international permet à tous les membres présents de se retrouver pour quelques bons mots et le pot de l’amitié. Le séjour d’automne est le séjour qui correspond à l’organisation de l’Assemblée Générale en novembre. Parallèlement, de nombreux rassemblements régionaux sont organisés tout au long de l’année dans différentes régions ou pays.

Les rencontres régionales :

A l’initiative d’animateurs régionaux ou de membres du club, de nombreux rassemblements régionaux sont organisés tout au long de l’année dans différentes régions ou pays. Ils permettent aux membres locaux où à ceux qui sont de passage de se rencontrer. Ces rassemblements sont ouverts aussi aux cyclos intéressés par notre club.

Les randonnées permanentes :

Ce sont des parcours tracés dans une région ou un pays et obéissent à une règle du jeu: traverser au moins 100 cols sur un parcours choisi par l’auteur. Il en existe 17 à ce jour. Le participant organise la réalisation de la randonnée permanente à sa guise tout en respectant la règle du jeu des randonnées permanentes.

Les Brevets :

Pour obtenir un brevet, le jeu consiste à gravir tous les cols routiers d’un département, d’un länder, d’un canton ou d’une province quel que soit le nombre de cols. Un brevet national par pays est également décerné. ( Ces brevets sont en cours d’élaboration et le lien sera actif dès qu’ils seront mis en place.)

Les challenges :

Ce sont des incitations à voyager, proposées par un membre du Club des Cent Cols sur un thème particulier et différent pour chaque challenge.

Les randonnées permanentes, les brevets et les challenges sont ouverts aux non-membres de la confrérie et sont un excellent moyen de la rejoindre.